Multiple edits have been made. The conflicting edits have been attached to the conflict message

You are here:
< Back
You might have seen message like below:
Multiple edits have been made. The conflicting edits have been attached to the conflict message.
 
Why does this conflict message happen?
 
Mostly, because of the nature of synchronization and the fact that multiple devices and users can access a mailbox/exchange resource. During synchronization, Outlook maintains a full set of replica folders stored in the OST and keeps the replicas updated with whatever is held in the master folders within the user’s mailbox or public folders on an Exchange server. At most time, synchronization works very well. But a potential problem may arise when a concurrent change is made to an item by multiple clients. This is when a conflict occurs and the potential of such a conflict is increased as the number of concurrent accesses increases. Think of an Exchange mailbox/folder that is accessed via Outlook, Outlook Web App, and a mobile device (or two) and imagine that the same item could be changed in multiple places at the same time. Add to this, in a groupware environment, where multiple users have the same shared mailbox or exchange resource/folder opened and accessed in their Outlook, the likelihood of two or more users concurrently making changes to the same item increase manifold.
 
To elaborate the scenario of multiple edits, consider an item in that shared mailbox/folder that is accessed/edited by two or more users. What happens is, when the first user edits and saves it, it goes OK with no issue. But the original item has now changed in Exchange. But that changes are not reflected in the copies of the item that were loaded by other users (who had opened it earlier before the changes). So, if the 2nd or 3rd user makes some changes and saved it, it is basically trying to save it on the old  version that does not exists anymore in Exchange. Due to this, Exchange throws a conflict, and only way to resolve it is to open that conflicted item and choose the version to retain.
 
This exchange conflict can render that particular case item crippled until the conflict is resolved by choosing one of the version of the case item to be retained. There is no direct solution to preventing exchange conflict, except to instruct individual users of the helpdesk, to only access and edit and work on those cases, that were assigned to them. This way, the administrator could be sure that cases are worked on by assigned techs and not by others who don’t have any stake.

Below, we will explore how to fix this error by resolving the Conflict in Outlook. A conflicted item in Outlook shows up with a unique icon different from the normal email or case item.

Exchange Conflict in Outlook item

To fix it, double-click the conflicted item to open in its inspector window. You should get a ‘Conflict Message’ inspector window similar to one below.

Conflict Message - How to resolve in Outlook

(NOTE: If you don’t get the above ‘Conflict Message’ window when opening that conflicted Outlook item, try disabling the Agent add-in in your Outlook temporarily and then open the conflicted item again. After resolving the conflict, you can re-enable the add-in again. Refer to our ‘How to disable the Team Helpdesk Addin temporarily in Outlook’ for more detail)

 Step 1: Choosing a specific version of the conflicted item to be retained. You will see 2 or more copies of the same Outlook item listed in the conflicted message. We recommend that you make note of the date/time the last edit was done (last column) and accordingly choose that version which was recently edited to be retained so that you don’t lose any new information that was added just before the conflict occurred. 

 Step 2: After a particular version of the conflicted item is selected from the list, now, press the button ‘Keep This Item’ to resolve the conflict. Doing so, the conflict state on that particular item will be removed, and the item will appear as normal Outlook case item in the Team Helpdesk folder. If you had disabled the Agent add-in prior to performing these two steps, you can now re-enable the add-in.

Once a conflict state is resolved in the Outlook case item, the icon of that item should revert back to the normal one (pinned yellow note) as shown below:

Conflict Message - resolved